Update 2: Half a Day in San Jose

13501957_10154451463373072_4532602219511963890_n

Hola!

One 2:30am alarm, two countries, three airports, and several coffees later, my team and I have finally made it to Costa Rica!

Today’s the first day that I haven’t stayed with Leah and Clara this week, the three of us are staying at different missionary homes these next two nights before we reunite at our host families home where we will stay the rest of the summer.

Once I was dropped off at the home I am staying at, I spent most of the remainder of the day asking questions and learning more about what missionary life is all about. The one thing that really stuck out to me, which is the main reason for me writing this, was their explanation of how they gave up all their things (home, clothes, belongings) in America to fully pursue God’s plans for them here in Costa Rica. They explained the many different struggles and trials they have encountered, but more so the many blessings they have received along the way as well.

The thing that stuck out to me the most was when they shared a story of people taking ships to a foreign country, and then burning their ships so they had no means of escape. They said that in the same way, they have nothing back in America (besides family) to go back to. They’ve burned their ships. This forces them to have no back-up plan in case the Lord does not come through and they need an escape. Their obedience to God is that of full faith in his abilities to provide for them in a foreign country where they are still continuing to learn the native language.

This got me thinking: how often am I willing to do what the Lord is calling me to do, but I keep a plan B open in case it falls through? Their willingness to give up their life, a life of comfort for a life of uncertainty has inspired me to really go at this summer 100%, all in. Not 85% willing to follow God’s leading. Not even 95% willingness. I pray that I will give up my comfort zone, and all my plan B’s to fully immerse myself into God’s plan for this summer and trust that God’s plan A will always be far superior to my plan B’s.

To close, this reminded me of a quote by Francis Chan, “But God doesn’t call us to be comfortable. He calls us to trust Him so completely that we are unafraid to put ourselves in situations where we would be in trouble if He doesn’t come through”.

Prayer Requests:

  • That my team and I will give up our comfort zones, and fully pursue the plans God has here in Costa Rica for us this summer. That we will “burn our ships” of escape and fully trust that God will come through in every situation. That there will be no plan B’s, because we fully believe that God cannot fail.
  • Continued prayer for Jonnie & Rissa
  • Continued prayer for the travels/safety of the other 12 trek7 teams

Leave a comment